The board of directors

Kava Spartak
1st Chairman

Society: YAAR e.V.

Qualification: 

  • BA Multilingual Communication
  • BA Political Science and English
  • MA Globalization, Transition and Development
  • MEd social studies and English

Current occupation: Managing Director of YAAR e.V.

The establishment of VAFO was a necessary step because it is time we got together and organized so that we can make our voice heard and help shape society. My vision is for our association in Germany to act as a role model for other Afghan diasporic communities around the world.

Maria Hosein-Habibi
Vice-Chairman

Society: Afghanic e.V.

Qualification: 

  • Bachelor of Arts (English, art education, political science)
  • Master of Education (Art, English)
  • 1st state examination (teaching qualification)

Current occupation: Teacher and artist

With my involvement at VAFO, I want to make a contribution to the professional and meaningful networking of Afghans and Afghan organizations in Germany, so that the Afghan diaspora gains visibility and is adequately taken into account in public discourse.

Dr. Gul-Rahim Safi
Vice-Chairman

Society: The Afghanistan Committee for Peace, Reconstruction and Culture e.V.

Qualification: 

PhD Chemist

Current occupation: Consultant at the University Ministry of Education in Afghanistan

The association is a unique institution for getting to know other associations, organizations and people who are all committed to and interested in Afghanistan. It is therefore extremely important for representing the interests of Afghans in and from Germany. It also motivates and stimulates me personally to be active in the association and to see how we can develop together over the next few years. I think it's great that we have managed to unite in our Afghan diversity and pursue a common vision: a peaceful Afghanistan and a peaceful Afghan diaspora in Germany.

Samad Sharif
Vice-Chairman

Society: German Association for Central Asia e.V.

Qualification: 

Master of Arts, European Cultural History

Current occupation: Project coordinator at Engagement Global, Education Meets Development and freelance journalist

The interests of the Afghan diaspora are currently not publicly represented or perceived. This may change with the establishment of the Association of Afghan Organizations in Germany. I would like to contribute my commitment and knowledge here so that the Afghan diaspora and associations get more visibility and get a voice.

Massieh Zare
Vice-Chairman

Society: bee4change e.V.

Qualification: 

  • Master in Public Policy

Current occupation: Service provider for digital (political) communication

I am involved with VAFO because the Afghan diaspora has seldom been heard in German society. And this despite the fact that there are many Afghan and German-Afghan organizations, some of which have been active for decades. I would like to help strengthen and expand existing structures and to give space for new ideas, projects and initiatives.

Stefanie Then
Treasurer

Society: ZAN e.V.

Qualification: 

Magister Artium (art, economic and social history as well as medieval history)

Current occupation: 

  • Managing Director of the ZAN Aid Organization for the Promotion of the Rights of Afghan Women e.V.
  • Project management of the educational program DADA-Aufbruch!

I am involved in the association so that I can support the advocacy of Afghan women with ZAN e.V.

Dr. Kefajat Hamidi
Secretary

Society: Leipzig Afghan Forum e.V.

Qualification: 

  • Doctorate: Communication and Media Studies
  • Magister: German as a Foreign Language

Current occupation: Director of the Research Center Development Communication - Communication for Social Change (EC4SC) - at the Institute for Communication and Media Studies at the University of Leipzig

I consider the work of the association to be important and that is why I was actively involved in the board. The number of Afghans and their organizations in Germany has risen sharply in recent years. But they are hardly networked with one another at the federal level. There are hardly any advocacy, activities, events or events organized by this community at the federal level. That is why the participation and participation of this group in federal politics in Germany is marginal and invisible. The active participation of this community in federal politics is very important. Active participation means that they have the right, the means, the space, the possibilities and, where necessary, the support to influence their own decisions, to carry out activities and to participate in society. The association could / should create the opportunity for this.

Our Members

Der Vorstand

Kava Spartak
1. Vorsitzender

Verein: YAAR e.V.

Qualifikation: 

  • BA Mehrsprachige Kommuniktation
  • BA Politikwissenschaft und Englisch
  • MA Globalisation, Transition and Development
  • MEd Sozialkunde und Englisch

Derzeitige Tätigkeit: Geschäftsführer des YAAR e.V.

Die Gründung von VAFO war ein nötiger Schritt, denn es wird Zeit, dass wir uns zusammenfinden und organisieren, damit wir uns Gehör verschaffen und die Gesellschaft mitgestalten können. Meine Vision ist, dass unser Verband in Deutschland als Vorbild für andere afghanisch-diasporische Communitys weltweit fungiert.

Maria Hosein-Habibi
Stellvertretende Vorsitzende

Verein: Afghanic e.V.

Qualifikation: 

  • Bachelor of Arts (Englisch, Kunstvermittlung, Politikwissenschaften)
  • Master of Education (Kunst, Englisch)
  • 1. Staatsexamen (Lehramt)

Derzeitige Tätigkeit: Lehrerin und Künstlerin

Mit meinem Engagement bei VAFO möchte ich einen Beitrag zur professionellen und sinnstiftenden Vernetzung von Afghan*innen beziehungsweise afghanischer Organisationen in Deutschland leisten, sodass die afghanische Diaspora an Sichtbarkeit gewinnt und eine angemessene Berücksichtigung im öffentlichen Diskurs findet.

Dr. Gul-Rahim Safi
Stellvertretender Vorsitzende

Verein: Das Afghanistan-Komitee für Frieden, Wiederaufbau und Kultur e.V.

Qualifikation: 

Promovierter Chemiker

Derzeitige Tätigkeit: Berater im Hochschul Ministerium für Bildung in Afghanistan

Der Verband ist eine einzigartige Institution, um andere Vereine, Organisationen und Personen, die sich alle für Afghanistan engagieren und interessieren, kennenzulernen. Er ist somit enorm wichtig für die Interessenvertretung der Afghan/innen in und aus Deutschland. Auch motiviert und reizt es mich persönlich im Verband aktiv zu sein und zu schauen, wie wir uns gemeinsam in den nächsten Jahren weiterentwickeln. Ich finde es großartig, dass wir es geschafft haben uns in unserer afghanischen Vielfalt zu einen und eine gemeinsame Vision verfolgen: ein friedliches Afghanistan und eine friedliche afghanische Diaspora in Deutschland.

Samad Sharif
Stellvertretender Vorsitzende

Verein: German Association for Central Asia e.V.

Qualifikation: 

Master of Arts, Europäische Kulturgeschichte

Derzeitige Tätigkeit: Projektkoordinator bei Engagement Global, Bildung Trifft Entwicklung und Freiberuflicher Journalist

Die Interessen der afghanischen Diaspora werden derzeit öffentlich nicht vertreten und wahrgenommen. Mit der Gründung des Verbandes Afghanischer Organisationen in Deutschland kann sich dies ändern. Ich möchte hier mein Engagement und Wissen einbringen, so dass die afghanische Diaspora und Vereine mehr Sichtbarkeit erhalten und eine Stimme bekommen.

Massieh Zare
Stellvertretender Vorsitzende

Verein: bee4change e.V.

Qualifikation: 

  • Master in Public Policy

Derzeitige Tätigkeit: Dienstleister für digitale (politische) Kommunikation

Ich engagiere mich bei VAFO, weil die afghanische Diaspora in der deutschen Gesellschaft bisher selten Gehör findet. Und das, obwohl es viele afghanische und deutsch-afghanische Organisationen gibt, die zum Teil jahrzehntelange Aktivitäten vorweisen. Ich möchte dabei unterstützen bestehende Strukturen zu verstärken und auszubauen sowie Raum für neue Ideen, Projekte und Initiativen zu geben.

Stefanie Then
Schatzmeisterin

Verein: ZAN e.V.

Qualifikation: 

Magister Artium (Kunst-, Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte sowie mittelalterliche Geschichte)

Derzeitige Tätigkeit: 

  • Geschäftsführerin der ZAN Hilfsorganisation zur Förderung der Rechte afghanischer Frauen e.V.
  • Projektleitung des Bildungsprogramms DADA-Aufbruch!

Ich engagiere mich im Verband, damit ich mit dem ZAN e.V. die Interessenvertretung der afghanischer Frauen unterstützen kann.

Dr. Kefajat Hamidi
Schriftführer

Verein: Leipziger Afghanisches Forum e.V.

Qualifikation: 

  • Promotion: Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaft
  • Magister: Deutsch als Fremdsprache

Derzeitige Tätigkeit: Direktor vom Forschungszentrum Entwicklungskommunikation – Communication for Social Change (EC4SC) –  im Institut für Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaft der Universität Leipzig

Ich halte die Arbeit des Verbandes für wichtig und engagierte mich deshalb aktiv im Vorstand. Die Zahl der Afghan*innen und deren Organisationen in Deutschland ist in den letzten Jahren stark gestiegen. Aber sie sind auf Bundesebene kaum miteinander vernetzt. Es gibt kaum Interessenvertretung, Aktivitäten, Veranstaltungen oder Events, die von dieser Community auf Bundesebene organisiert werden. Deswegen ist die Partizipation und Teilhabe dieser Gruppe in der Bundespolitik in Deutschland marginal und unsichtbar. Die aktive Beteiligung dieser Community an der Bundespolitik ist sehr wichtig. Eine aktive Beteiligung bedeutet, dass sie das Recht, die Mittel, den Raum, die Möglichkeiten und, wo notwendig, auch die Unterstützung erhalten, um selbst Entscheidungen zu beeinflussen, Aktivitäten umzusetzen und an der Gesellschaft mitzuwirken. Der Verband könnte/sollte dafür die Gelegenheit schaffen.

Unsere Mitglieder

Kontaktieren Sie uns